Ending Femicide: Global Voices in the Struggle Against the Killing of Women

Join us on December 7th, at 6:00 EST | 12:00 CET | 13:00 EET | 19:00 CST for an event that will be a space to discuss femicide: the most extreme form of gender-based violence. Prominent experts and academics dealing with the problem worldwide will come together to discuss the key issues they believe need to be raised and understood – as well as addressed by policy makers and practitioners – about femicide in their field or community of expertise; and will provide practical recommendations to be implemented.

Confirmed speakers are leading experts and academics with heavy backgrounds on femicide in Europe, the Middle East and Latin America. Prof. Shalva Weil, from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and founder of the Israel Observatory on Femicide, has published dozens on articles and book chapters on femicide. Her intervention is called “Femicide: has the killing of women (female geronticide) been overlooked?”. Prof. Roselyn Costantino, Ph.D., is Professor Emerita of Pennsylvania State University. Since 2005, Costantino’s work has centered femicide and rape as weapons of war and genocideShe focusses on Mexican, Guatemalan and Mayan women as citizens of nations and communities directly impacted by U.S. foreign and economic policy, and the title of her intervention will be “Shape-Shifting of Extreme Violence Against Women In Guatemala and Mexico: When Visibilizing Systemic Culprits Isn’t Enough”. Finally, Prof. Pina Lalli is a Full Professor in Sociology of Culture and Communication, and the deputy director of the Department of Political and Social Sciences of the University of Bologna. Her recent research features especially social representations of violence against women and the issue of femicide in Italy – within the Research Observatory on Femicide.

The Global 16 Days Campaign, launched by the Center for Women’s Global Leadership (CWGL) at its first Women’s Global Leadership Institute in 1991, has been used worldwide to call for the elimination of gender-based violence (GBV). It is run annually from November 25 (International Day Against Violence Against Women) to December 10 (International Human Rights Day).
2021 marks the 30th anniversary of the Global 16 Days Campaign. Inspired by the original vision and history of the Campaign, which focused on raising awareness about violence against women (VAW), and considering the continuing impunity for femicide, this year the Campaign focuses on the issue of “femicide or the gender-related killing of women.”

In order to attend this free and online event, please register here: https://bit.ly/3pCylar