Intersectional Perspectives on the Shadow Pandemic | Session 1

Violence against women is still far too rampant around the world – and in many countries, it has increased during the COVID-19 pandemic. This international webinar will bring together leading academics and practitioners on gender-based violence and on women’s rights to discuss the current state of play in different communities and settings; address key challenges; and provide recommendations for policy, practice, and action – all through an intersectional perspective. Confirmed experts have backgrounds in gender-responsive policing; violence against women in politics; and the application of intersectionality on gender, policy, and governance.

This Global Webinar from Peace Action, Training and Research Institute of Romania (PATRIR) is open to international audiences and it is structured in two different sessions with different speakers exploring the same subject: Violence Against Women and the Violent Backlash Against Women’s Rights

On Session 1, we will be having: Dr. Noraida Endut, a Professor of the Unit for Research on Women and Gender (KANITA), at University Sains Malaysia (USM). She is currently the Deputy President of the Asian Association of Women’s Studies (AAWS) and a Director on the Board of the International Women’s Rights Watch Asia Pacific (IWRAW AP). Her research areas include women and the law, gender and work, violence against women, women and economic empowerment and technology, particularly focusing on Malaysia and the ASEAN region. Mona Lena Krook, a Professor of Political Science and Chair of the Women and Politics Ph.D. Program at Rutgers University. Her most recent book, Violence against Women in Politics (Oxford University Press, 2020), draws on this work to explore, theorize, and document attacks against women in public life around the globe. In this line, her intervention will be entitled “Violence against Women in Politics and Public Life”. Finally, Leslee Udwin is the Founder and Executive Chair of the global not-for-profit education organisation, Think Equal, whose vision is to create a safe, free, and equal world. Her presentation will focus on “The Missing Third Dimension in Early Years Education: Social and Emotional Learning as a Preventative Solution to Gender Based Violence”.

Join us on the December 8th, for the first session of this Global Webinar, at 9:00 EST | 15:00 CET | 16:00 EET | 22:00 CST .

This event is free and online. You just need to register here:
Session 1 https://bit.ly/3ri9XNL

Events Data